

# **Duval County Public Schools**

September 10, 2008, Special Board Meeting - Budget

Ms. Betty Burney, Chairman

Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Vice-Chairman

Ms. Kris Barnes

Ms. Martha Barrett

Ms. Nancy Broner

Ms. Vicki Drake

Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson

Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

ATTENDANCE AT THIS SPECIAL MEETING OF THE DUVAL COUNTY SCHOOL BOARD with Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent of Schools, Mr. Ernst Mueller, Office of General Counsel, Ms. Betty Burney, Board Chairman, Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Vice Chairman, and Board members: Kris Barnes, Martha Barrett, Vicki Drake and Brenda Priestly Jackson, present. Ms. Nancy Broner was absent.

Call Meeting to Order

**CALL MEETING TO ORDER** 

Minutes:

The Chairman called the Special meeting to order at 5:06 p.m.

Administration and Business Services - Budget and Financial

PUBLIC HEARING - 2008-2009 FINAL MILLAGE RATES AND FINAL BUDGET

Attachment: ESE524.08.pdf

Attachment: ResolutionAdopting2008finalbudget.pdf

Attachment: resolutioncategflex.08.pdf

Minutes:

The Chairman declared the public hearing open on the following item:

Adoption of the 2008-2009 Final Millage rates for the General Fund, Capital Improvement Fund and the Adoption of the related Resolution certifying to the Property Appraiser the setting of the millage levies

#### Speaker:

Mr. Mike Perrone, Budget Director

(1A) The Chairman asked if anyone in the audience wished to speak to the Board regarding this item, there being no response, the Chairman closed the public hearing.

Millage rates for fiscal year 2008-2009 are as follows:

- 1. Required Local Effort 5.112 \$316,018,056
- 2. Basic Discretionary 0.498 \$ 30,785,797
- 3. Capital Outlay 1.750 \$108,183,020
- 4. Supplemental Discretionay 0.201 \$12,425,593
- 5. Additional -0- \$-0-
- 6. Debt -0- \$-0-

Totals: 7.561 - \$467,412,466

The total millage rate to be levied exceeds the roll-back rate by 3.02%.

Mr. Perrone read the Millage Resolution. Attachment in the Minutes.

The second part of this Public Hearing deals with (1B) - Adoption of the 2008-2009 Final Budget and related Resolution.

The Chairman declared the public hearing open on the following item:

Adoption of the 2008-2009 final Budget and related Resolution

#### Speaker:

Mr. Mike Perrone, Budget Director

The Chairman asked if anyone in the audiece wished to speak to the Board regarding this item; there being no response, the Chairman closed the public hearing.

The final Budget for the 2008-2009 school year is:

- 1. General Operating in the amount of: \$1,047,136,340
- 2. Special Revenue Budget \$145,113,284
- 3. Debt Service Budget in the amount of \$ 77,722,163
- 4. Capital Outlay Budget \$ 432,612,750
- 5. Internal Service Budget \$138,014,076

Total Final Budget: \$ 1,840,598,613

Mr. Perrone read the Resolution adopting the Final Budget. *See attachment in the minutes.* 

The third part of this agenda item (1C), is the approval of the 2008-2009 Categorical Flexibility Funding Resolution.

Mr. Perrone read the 2008-2009 Categorical Flexibility Funding Resolution. *See attachment in the minutes.* 

### Motions:

VOTE 1: Vote on Required Local Effort Millage Levy of 5.112 - PASS mills for the Operating Fund.

Vote Results

Motion: Thomas Hazouri Second: Kristanna Barnes

Kristanna Barnes - Aye
Martha Barrett - Aye

Nancy Broner - Not Present

Betty Burney - Aye
Victoria Drake - Aye
Thomas Hazouri - Aye
Brenda Priestly Jackson - Aye

#### Motions:

VOTE 2: Vote on Basic Discretionary Millage levy of 0.498 mills for the Operating Fund.

Vote Results

Motion: Thomas Hazouri Second: Kristanna Barnes

Kristanna Barnes - Aye Martha Barrett - Aye

Nancy Broner - Not Present

Betty Burney - Aye

Victoria Drake	- Aye
Thomas Hazouri	- Aye
Brenda Priestly Jackson	- Aye

Motions:

VOTE 3: vote on Supplemental Discretionary Millage Levy of 0.201 Mills for the General Fund.

Vote Results

Motion: Thomas Hazouri Second: Victoria Drake

Kristanna Barnes - Aye Martha Barrett - Aye

Nancy Broner - Not Present

**Betty Burney** - Aye Victoria Drake - Aye Thomas Hazouri - Aye Brenda Priestly Jackson - Aye

Motions:

VOTE 4: Vote on Capital Millage Levy of 1.750 mills for the

Capital Projects Fund.

- PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Thomas Hazouri Second: Kristanna Barnes

Kristanna Barnes - Aye Martha Barrett - Aye

Nancy Broner - Not Present

**Betty Burney** - Aye Victoria Drake - Aye Thomas Hazouri - Aye Brenda Priestly Jackson - Aye Motions:

VOTE 5: Vote on 2008-2009 Final Budget. - PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Thomas Hazouri Second: Kristanna Barnes

Kristanna Barnes - Aye Martha Barrett - Aye

Nancy Broner - Not Present

Betty Burney - Aye
Victoria Drake - Aye
Thomas Hazouri - Aye
Brenda Priestly Jackson - Aye

Motions:

VOTE 6: Vote on Approval of 2008-2009 Categorical

Flexibility Funding - Resolution.

- PASS

Vote Results

Motion: Thomas Hazouri Second: Victoria Drake

Kristanna Barnes - Aye Martha Barrett - Aye

Nancy Broner - Not Present

Betty Burney - Aye
Victoria Drake - Aye
Thomas Hazouri - Aye
Brenda Priestly Jackson - Aye

## Adjournment

**ADJOURNMENT** 

ľ	Minutes:	
٦	The Special meeting adjourned at 5:23 p.m	
I	sd	
Superinter	ndent	Chairman